Hawk Spirit Meaning, Symbols, and Totem

I’ve been seeing a lot of hawks flying over our house this week.  Huhm…another message?

Namasté, Cynthia

Hawk Symbolism

source: http://divinesparks.blogspot.com/2008/04/hawk-symbolism.html

In representation to humanity, the hawk is called messenger, protector and visionary. Keen vision is one of its greatest gifts. Hawks see things others miss.

The hawk comes to you indicating that you are now awakening to your soul purpose, your reason for being here. It can teach you how to fly high while keeping yourself connected to the ground.

As you rise to a higher level, your psychic energies are awakening and the hawk can help you to keep those senses in balance. Its message for you is to be open to hope and new ideas, to extend the vision of your life.

The Hawk is an animal of flight. It soars through the air looking down, and sees everything. It has a larger perspective of what is going on down below. With its keen eyesight, it looks down as it soars through the air looking for its prey. It can see the smallest of creatures below.

The Hawk is known as a messenger, similar to the planet Mercury, for the hawk soars close to the Grandfather Sun, as does the planet. When you listen to the power of the Grandfather Sun or Wise Spirit that lives within, you are protected from all types of harm.

The Hawk teaches you to be observant and take a close look at your surroundings. It soars with the power to overcome difficult situations. It soars in circles over the life of the earth, asking you to circle over your life and view it from a higher perspective.

The Hawk has a distinct cry, one that most people are aware of. Its cry signifies awareness. If you hear the cry of the hawk use your intuitive ability to discern the message and seek the truth.

If a hawk has soared into your life, you require a higher perspective. You need to see the details of what is going on and look at the bigger picture. Take a look at your situation from above.

♥♥♥

source: http://www.spiritanimal.info/hawk-spirit-animal/

Hawk Spirit Animal

When you have the hawk as a spirit animal, you may have an inclination towards using the power of vision and intuition in your daily life. The hawk totem provides wisdom about seeing situations from a higher perspective, using the power of observation, and focusing on the task at hand. It’s a good companion to develop spiritual awareness.

What is the hawk totem meaning?

The hawk spirit animal or totem has several attributes and meanings:

  • Hawk is the messenger of the spirit world
  • Use the power of focus
  • Take the lead when the time is right
  • Power to see, clear vision
  • Strong connection with spirit, increased spiritual awareness

Hawk spirit animals belong to the realm of bird medicine. It carries the symbolism that comes with the ability to fly and reach the skies.

The hawk spirit animal as the messenger

The hawk can soar high and reach the heavens effortlessly. As most bird totems, this power animal is often considered as a messenger who brings messages from the spirit world and the unseen.

If you have the hawk as a spirit animal, you may be inclined to play with divination tools and use your intuition to guide your steps in life. Working with the hawk totem could reinforce your ability to rely this type of guidance.

When the hawk shows up in your life, be sensitive to the messages it may carry and be receptive to your own intuition.

Main meaning of hawk totems and the power of focus

Hawk spirit animals invite us to be focused in our daily undertakings. When you feel the presence of the hawk totem, avoid distractions and focus on the task at hand.

At the same time, hawks can soar and fly high in the sky. This animal has the power to provide support in gaining a higher level perspective on any issue or project you undertake. When the hawk appears in your life, it’s perhaps time to be less distracted by the details and focus on the higher perspective. Relying on the hawk power, you can see what’s ahead clearly and defy any obstacles that may be on your way.

A specific way the hawk guidance works is to use a high level and yet clear and focused vision to guide your action.

Hawk spirit animals and taking the lead when the time is right

The hawk is also a bird of prey. Having this animal as a spirit guide emphasizes your ability to lead and influence others. When the hawk is present in your life, it could signify that it’s time to take more initiative and being active.

Hawks symbolize the power of observation. This spirit animal’s guidance may also indicate that you have the opportunity to study a situation before taking action. Observe the situation and then act when the time is right.

Hawk spirit animal and power to see

The hawk spirit animal is associated with the power of vision. If you have the hawk as a totem, you have or are developing the ability to see clearly and have strong visions. Perhaps, you even use clairvoyant skills to support your goals in life and communication with others.

Just like the hawk can see in great detail at great distances, you maybe able to perceive what others do not. You may have an affinity with piercing life great mysteries and divination in one form or another.

The hawk and connection with the spiritual realms

When you have the hawk as a spirit animal, you may have a natural inclination to receive visions, either in dreams or awake. Your extra sensory abilities and intuition are supported by the power of this animal.

The hawk totem is strongly connected to the spiritual realms. When it shows up in your life, you may be called to pay attention and experience rapid spiritual development. As you develop your relationship with your totem, you may be inspired to feel your connection with spirit more fully.

Hawk symbolism in ancient traditions

In numerous traditions, the hawk has a strong relationship with the world of the gods. Some of this symbolism has persisted in modern mythology and beliefs.

In Ancient Egypt, the belief was that a hawk-headed spirit called “ba” would fly off a mummy to come back among the living as a hawk or swallow. The hawk symbolized a part of the soul that would be freed up after death and come back to the world of the living in the shape of a bird. It was also the animal of choice for the god Horus, god of the sky, who was represented with a hieroglyph depicting a falcon or hawk.

The popular belief in more modern times that birds like hawks or owls are announcer of death may be rooted in this myth.

For the Greeks, the hawk and the eagle were associated with the god Jupiter, king of the gods. The bird is strongly connected with the realm of the gods.

60 comments on “Hawk Spirit Meaning, Symbols, and Totem

  1. I have been blesses by hawks, hummingbirds, hummingbird hawk moths, preying mantis, lizards, crickets, owls and my first rabbit last week!! The gifts they have brought ring true to the spiritual interptetations found here. Thank you i wish all healing, positive totems for all people, all things💝🎆

    • Thank you Robin for your comments! I’ve just recently connected to the animal kingdom in this manner. And I’m finding it fascinating! Peace and Love to you my sister.

    • I have an hr. drive to visit my son in prison freebyroncase.com he was wrongfully convicted. The many hawks I see on my way there guide me keep me balanced and reasure me that we are watched over. We fight for justice.

      • Hello Friend,
        I’m so very sorry to hear of your Family’s hard times, your Son’s legal matters, yet i feel hopeful with your hawk sightings. I believe they are a gifted reminder of your ‘Courage of Conviction’.
        Please reach out anytime, and tune in to the ‘CrimePunishment Show’ Thursdays on ‘LATalkRadio’ (.com!) BruceCameron & LarryLevine (6pmPST). Their knowlege, compassion, expertise..will lift you up, guiding you and yours on a new ‘Flight Path’ to Freedom.
        Most Sincerely,
        Robin

  2. I had a hawk land on my roof rack of my SUV this morning….I took pictures of it thru my sunroof…the whole time staring at all of this creatures features…as it was staring back at me. Happy Monday morning to me.

    • Hello! Think about you often! Have been meaning to reach out! I wrote a poem for us last we connected. It just came! Lots to share! Cant recall if youre on twitter?! Im @RobinJohnsonCA plz ck out @RobynGianni and!! http://www.RobynGianni.com you will love her! Hope all is well where you are! I look forward to chatting & sharing more!
      Most Sincerely
      Robin
      (805)494-4384

      • FYI…Robin’s phone number (robinbreezmom@gmail.com) is still posted and available to all the public to see.

    • Help! I thought my msge to Jewel was private. PLZ Delete My Number From Public View! Note ok Number for Jewel ONLY! Thx R

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. I saw a hawk today first perching on a electrical line while walking my dog, I stopped and presented myself and dog to him/her, it starred at us and we went our way. Then i saw another or maybe the same hawk flying overhead of me spreading its wings soaring in the sky. I have also encountered turtles crossing the street or just smack in the middle of the street, I fear for their safety and cross them over. Hummimgbirds like to follow me around too. So do bees!

  4. A hawk hit the window directly directly behind my head at the vet’s office today. Luckily, it was able to fly off after perching on a banister for a little while, but it definitely got my attention.

  5. A sharp shinned hawk perched on a tree in my backyard for a hour yesterday. Very unusual. During that hour, a group of crows, taunting a red tailed hawk, perched in a tree next to the one with the other hawk. Truly amazing. Then researched and found this info- guess hawks are seeding me wisdom!

  6. I often see hawks on our early morning walk along the Betty Sutherland Trail. While in the parking lot of a grocery store this morning, I saw a red tailed hawk flew in and perched itself on the roof of the grocery store. We finished pack our stuff in the car, meanwhile he showed off his coat and turned around and was picking at something on the roof of the building. I hope I will learn from the hawk, how to fly high while keeping myself connected to the ground! Thanks for the information.

  7. I have two Hawks: one female and one male; who constantly follow me around; no matter where I am they are always, one or the other there to guide me or watch over me as I travel. Just this morning I woke to both perched on a fence just across the street from me. I was having a crappy morning and just seeing them and feeling their companionship made my day completely different. : ) ❤ Animals

  8. That’s really interesting, my aunt died a few years back and I see her as a hawk, wherever I go. I saw the hawk at school also. My cousin died a few days back and when I saw the hawk at school I knew it was her, cause how often do you see hawks at school? I’ve been having a hard time with her passing, especially in the last few days and when I saw the hawk I knew it was a sign. This made me so glad that my aunt and cousin are there watching me😄

  9. what would be the symbolism of seeing a hawk-eyed moth (this is in the uk)?…apart from it being a combination of the symbolism of moth and hawk of course – and also needing to be hawk-eyed to have seen it in the middle of a boggy moor i was walking across concentrating on not sinking and avoiding large highland cattle up ahead! It was also a new moon/solar eclipse today opposing my natal moon. would appreciate any special insights…thanks.

  10. I just saw a hawk a moment ago. It soared across my cafe outside and then it landed on a pole and we looked at each other. I looked up a little while later and it was gone. I have a positive venue with poetry, art and music. A lot of people have tried to undermine me and steal my concepts but I was gifted this by the ancestors… Wondering what the meaning of the hawk visiting me is… I am very much a spirit being.

  11. The other day while receiving a remote transpersonal healing with James Gilliland from E.C.E.T.I ranch in Trout Lake Washington {u,f,o hotspot} This hawk flow so close to me I could here his wings flapping it was so cool I know yes it was a sign for me to figure out. Hi again jewelin

    • Hi there this happened to me on Tuesday this week he was so
      Close to my body. This morning I saw a baby hawk in the parking lol of my job, it didn’t fly away right away as I approached it. Lastnight I saw an unsual amount of lizards on my house. Trying to find the meaning.

  12. This helps me a great deal! I was driving home last night and saw something out of the corner of my eye and when I looked out the passenger window, there was a hawk flying next to it! Definitely took it to mean something!

    • This exact same thing happened to me 2 days ago. Plus a couple of weeks ago a hawk flew up to my window and looked me in the eye. A few days after that, a hawk was perched on a pole outside my classroom.

  13. Thank you for your information, so grateful. I would love if you could help me. I had the most incredible experience today. I was walking my dog and on the phone with my sis… I saw two hawks fly by on the trail and go up in a tree that I just walked by. So I went and back tracked and there were 4 in total in the tree all on different branches. So I went close to the tree and just started waving to them, saying hello and thank you for their beauty. Got off the phone and wanted to take a pic and the craziest thing was they all opened their wings one at time and it just blew me away, its like they were acknowledging me. I am highly intuitive with healing abilities. I just really wanted someone else perspective and felt they were communicating with me. so strangely beautiful. Thank you so much Namaste.

  14. i am not privey of all these meaning… but 5 days ago…for three eves in a roe i had a stunning hawk bless me with his or hers presents sitting on all my favorite things in my yard …i wish i could find the message….but it was such a calming and gracios gift….if anyone can chime in with ideas thanks janelle

  15. I woke up this morning, went to the back door to look out and saw a big hawk sitting on my rainbarrel, a few feet from the house. I’ve never seen one up close before. He seems to bring me the message that it’s OK to accept my gift of clear vision, something I’ve been reluctant to share with others. I’ve also been having problems with my eyes, especially my left eye. I think these two things are all bringing me the same message.

  16. Ya at eeh everyone,

    I am half blood Navajo and always remember to respect every one and everything!
    If you become still and listen with every part of your being, our relatives messages will become clearer to you!

    Everything and everyone is connected to help each other- not and I repeat not hurt each other!

    Hag oo nee,

    One Navajo Tracker

  17. Pingback: The Hawk | Art and Life

  18. The last couple of weeks I have seen a hawk daily. He’s always where I wouldn’t expect him, sometimes flying windshield level in front of my car. Not sure what he’s wanting me to know.

  19. Pingback: Project 01 Research | Michelle Reynolds

  20. Pingback: Project 01, Research MSU | Michelle Reynolds

  21. I saw a white hawk the other day for a few minutes in the sky and just felt it was the most beautiful bird. I never knew they could be whit as I had been seeing the brown ones hovering in the skies for years now. Breath taking.

  22. Hello. This morning I woke up to find a hawk standing on my car. I went outside to take a picture of it and noticed a second one a few cars down. The second one just happened to be on my boyfriends trucks. Does this mean something? I just thought it was crazy and had to find out. If someone can point me in the right direction if you don’t know. Please and thank you

  23. This morning my husband and I were walking together through the trails in the woods near our home. 5 falcons flew in a tight circle right above our head. We sat down and began watching them. They remained flying in a tight circle higher and higher until 4 vanished into the high sky. Then the one flew back low near us and took off. What could the meaning be?

  24. i just had a large hawk come to my front porch not 5ft. from my front door and start screeching, when i op
    ened the door to see what it was it just sat there looking at me for a second and then flew off,, what does this mean

  25. i just had a large hawk come to my front porch,screeching very loud , not 5ft. from my door, when i opened the door to see what was making that noise it just sat there and looked at me a min and then flew off,,, what does this mean

  26. I lost my husband of forty three years last year, I moved out of state and bought a home in the country,after about a month this hawk started flying over my roof top every other day sometimes alone or with another hawk, to day it has been a little over a year since his passing,I was talking with my daughter on phone when three hawks were circling my roof top then five then fifteen then thirty of them,it was like a tornado,then as fast as they came they left,I could hear the beating of their wings,about two minutes later one lone hawk flew over house and was gone,help what does this mean

  27. I was up by 8 am this morning in my room watching good day LA as i suddenly heard the cry of a strange bird which naturally caught my attention for we only see crows and wild birds fly around my home. I look out the window and there it was over head standing on these wooden stands a little over me but can still see clearly. He/she looked right at me as we made eye contact for a few seconds. It made me a little nervous but even more curious as to how a hawk would just be sitting right out side my window, more so a young hawk. I could tell it wasn’t a full grown adult yet. I’ve seen them before but they would be flying high over me while I was driving. Never seen one 5-10 feet away, so close i can see the color of his/her eyes, very light hazel, almost like a yellow. So beautiful. So I decide i want a closer look and step outside quietly so i don’t scare him/her. I go a few steps out and try to look up at it and it sees me and turns his/her head towards me and stares so hard i get freaked out and sneaked back inside. It felt as if it was going to come soaring down at me since i was now less than 5 feet away from it and maybe i had frightened it. I go back inside and suddenly i feel this warm feeling of security and happiness. When i got to work i looked it up to see if it had any meaning and sure enough it does! After reading this post i’m so happy that it happened the way it did, as it is i’m already very fond of birds; hawks and eagles mainly, their beautiful creatures. I’m excited to see whats coming to me soon and I can’t wait to see a clearer picture of the message.

  28. I was at the grocery store and had the door open to my vehicle and was leaning in over the passenger seat looking for something for about 5 mins. when I heard a lady behind me say excuse me, I turned around and said yes, she told me that a hawk had landed on my car door that I was in and was just sitting there watching me! I didnt know what to say so I just said really? She said YES and she was amazed and didnt know what to do or if she should holler out so she just watched and after a few mins. it flew away. I said WOW I wish you could have gotten a picture of that cause I never saw one get so close before. She said oh well I just wanted to let you know and Im glad it didnt hurt you. I said thanks and she went on her way. I told my husband about it and I have to admit I wondered if she was crazy because I never even heard a noise. I had forgotten about it till the other day when while outside I looked up and there was a hawk just sitting on my fence at the edge of the woods watching me. I went in to get a camera and it was gone. The really strange thing is about 9 months ago my husband and I came across a red tail hawk in the road that had been hit but was still alive. My husband got him out of the road while I called a local outfit that rescues wild animals and a man came and took him to the shelter. Later he was transported to a refuge on the outer banks. What can all of this possibly mean in MY life? February will make a year of some struggles I have been dealing with, could this be something trying to tell me something or is it all just a coincidence?

  29. I have been trying to get my house in Feng Shui order w/the help of a Feng Shui Master. While she was @my house this past wk, a hawk was sitting outside the front of the house in the grass looking @the house & yesterday I went to go out in the backyard & this same hawk, I believe, was trying to attack me coz it swooped down & came at me. I ran into the house. And, 2 wks ago, I saw it in the tree @the end of the driveway eating something. I didn’t think that much about it @the time. But now, it makes me wonder what is going on w/this hawk? Can you tell me anything?

  30. I saw today a red tail hawk dive and land on the back of another red tail hawk perched on a fence post. What meaning could this have?

  31. Ok so I live in Las Vegas, it’s a city not wilderness friendly at all… The apartment complex I live in has few trees, there is one just outside my upstairs window. Yesterday I was aweken from my sleep by the sound of flapping. I honestly thought a flock of pigeons were flying near my window. As I open my eyes I see a hawk looking right at me. I seen its yellow-brownish eyes just looking at me without hesitation. Then it flew a couple branches as I called my mom to see it. I’ve been trying to look at the meaning and I found the above article to be rather interesting. I was wondering if the meaning in the above article is applicable to me. Thank you

  32. I went out side to look up at a lamppost and a coopers hawk is there watching and staring at me for a while. what can this mean?

    • I just lost my 9yr old daughter a week ago. I was sitting outside crying about her and saying that God took her and i was mad at him and 3 hawks circled me in the sky around and around. It was strange. Til I read this.

      • Dear Michael,

        I would love to hear more about your precious child, to know of things she loved, to learn what you felt when compelled to go outside…when the Hawks drew your eyes to Sky.

        It is my hope you will find strength from their visit, gifted messages when they come again for we know sorrow dares depart when suffering great loss, nor does time heal all things, so we pray, pray our pain soon settles in the deeper caverns of our heart, trusting love transcends without end, believing people mean well, understanding
        there are no appropriate words in
        this disproportionate circumstance, only opportunity to rise above on a wing and prayer until you see yoursel through her eyes again.

        With Love,
        R

  33. hello, about 2 years ago I began seeing Hawks with prey in their talons. In my whole life I’d never seen birds carrying prey and now I see it all the time. today I saw it on a city sidewalk while I was walking my dog, I couldn’t believe it. I know Hawks carry spiritual significance but what do you think about it always carrying prey when I encounter them?

  34. I have some Mohawk blood and the red tail has been with me for many, many years. last night I was smoking my kinnick-kinnick in a pipe and meditating. A few minutes after my last draw from the pipe, a red tail came down from the trees right along side my porch and screeched at me. I had been playing the song by Steve Miller ‘ I want to fly like an Eagle” just before too. I have had so many animal encounters of such variety I should write a book. I’ve even had a bald eagle in my trees in the back yard and where live its not common for this to happen. Despite everything from being able to call a deer in the woods that actually came up to me and let me stroke its head (literally!) to the constant appearance of the hawk, I know I am gifted with the creatures. I have worked in bird rehab for a 5-year period and actually held a bald eagle on my glove, a red tail and various owls. I play Native American flute as well. There was a time I spent 5 years training a Raven to fly to my glove and eat from my hand and do various tricks and play with me like a pet dog! I am not making any of this up. When I rose from my chair, I knew that my meditations were heard. I was born in the year of the snake in Chinese astrology, which tells me that this sign is associated with philosophers, shamans and teachers. I was practicing a Tai Chi sword form one day, and looked up and a red tail hawk was watching me from the top of a tree! They are precious birds. I have personally learned that they, along with many other birds and animals, have facial recognition capability and can sense your spirit. These are things the ancient ones knew. I could say so much more but it would take too much space. Be blessed, watch and listen. All animals are smarter than you are!

  35. Ever since my mom had passed away easter ofn 2013,
    A hawk soasoared over her car escorting me along the road to her house,ever since that day this hawk was joined by another and circle around me,yesterday she flew from the left side
    Of me out of no very close,and very very swiftly i jumped back in astonishment she would of tackled me if i had not noticed her and dodged out of her way, up to the nearby tree, I could not believe how incredibly fast and close,I was walking up to my neighbors house with my husband,I feel something is not right with him and these people,like she was saying do not go any further,is her getting that close a warning ,

  36. I saw a Beautiful hawk at the park up close and took 4 pictures it just started at us sitting on the gate in front of my car which is a blue sky color now just last night I dreamed a hawk came right up to me as a friend Wow what A Blessings to my life Thank God for His Creations Amen

  37. Can you help me out. Around or between 1am-3am. A hawk was flying above my apartment screeching. Do you know the meaning. Joanie

  38. Hello. Last night, hawk’s piercing cry woke me up from my half sleep. At first, I was very concerned and distracted but then, unexpectedly I felt so calm and at ease so I could sleep like a baby. Recently I have some sleep disorder, and really last night after hearing hawk’s cry I could sleep very comfortably. It’s kinda mystery for me because Im living in not so small city. Around city we do have deep forest, but I still keep wondering why a lone hawk came to the centre of the city at night….
    I don’t feel bad after hearing it’s cry, I know it has a meaning, and actually I feel kinda lighter than before. I just want to hear it one more time, and be more aware of it so then I could thank him in my heart 😊🦅

Leave a comment